FAME 2019

The Fellowship looks forward to with excitement to FAME 2019—FPAFA’s inclusive Juried Alumni Exhibition—at HOT-BED GALLERY, 723 Chestnut Street Philadelphia! FAME 2019 will be an OPEN CALL with generous expanded size limits! FPAFA members will be updated with more information. PLEASE visit this page for updated information and PROSPECTUS, to be provided later in FEBRUARY of 2019!

Fellowship 2019 Ad top.jpg

FAME 2017

The August 6th FAME 2017 Reception at PAFA's Historic Landmark Building's Alumni Gallery was filled to overflowing capacity! Congratulations again to all the artists! A reminder to collectors and visitors of our website, all works exhibited in FAME 2017 are available for purchase, and a listing can be downloaded here!

The Fellowship of PAFA takes great pleasure in announcing recipients of the FAME 2017 AWARDS; Juror: Kirsten Jensen, Chief Curator The James A. Michener Art Museum


The Fellowship Award of Excellence, Robert Ecker; The Berthe M. Goldberg Award, Dale Levy; The Lucy Glick Award, Ryan Almodovar; The M. A. Post Award,  Kassem Amoudi; The Leona Karp Braverman Award, Elizabeth Heller; The Caroline Gibbons Granger Award, Judy McGregor Caldwell; H. V. Hawley Award for Excellence (purchase), John Jonik; The FPAFA President’s Award for Excellence, Katherine Stanek.  Honorable Mentions are awarded to Nicole Michaud, Lauren Litwa, Donna Backues and Marlene D’Orazio Adler. The 2017 Mary Butler Trust Purchase Awardees (Selected by FPAFA VP and Curator of Collections Hilarie V Hawley) are David Wilson Campbell and Jeffrey Dion.



 Jurying an exhibition is rewarding and challenging. Shows usually take months, even years, to pull together, but in the space of a few hours, hundreds of images are reviewed, and decisions are made. The juror brings their knowledge and experience, but the economy of time also necessitates some consideration of a gut reaction. As a juror I approach the work first through the prism of technique--skill, craftsmanship, composition, and medium. Is the piece well executed? Does it do something new with the medium? Does the piece catch my eye and make me explore it further? Is it pleasing to look at? Is it challenging? Is it presented well?

The works submitted for the show suggest that the Fellowship is a diverse and talented arts community. I want those who submitted work to know that eliminating pieces from the pool is hard. I wish to congratulate those artists whose work was admitted, and to further encourage those whose work was not. Lastly, I want to thank you—the Artist—for the opportunity to become acquainted with your work, and for the privilege of jurying this year's exhibition.

Kirsten M. Jensen, PhD

Gerry & Marguerite Lenfest Chief Curator

Michener Art Museum


FAME 2017

The Fellowship Annual Members Exhibition Congratulations to our 2017 FAME Exhibition ARTISTS!

  Lauren Acton, Marlene D’Orazio Adler, Ryan Almodovar, Kassem Amoudi, Donna Backues, Jennifer Baker, Noah Baumgartel, Sandra Benhaim, Ken Berman,Pat Boyer, Judy Caldwell, Harry Camarda, Rachel Constantine, Robert Couch, Melanie Dion, Michael Doyle, Maureen Drdak, Robert Ecker, Eiko Fan, Bonnie Farber, John Formicola, Peter Frantz, Jessica Gamble, Linda Goschke, Nicholas James Harris, Elizabeth Heller, Mary Powers Holt, Kenneth Houck, Rebecca Jacob, John Jonik, Michael Karlowski, Warren Keyser, Megan Lawlor, Dale Levy, Stefanie Lieberman, Lauren A Litwa, Andrea Lyons, Andrij Maday, Nicole Michaud, Sandra Milner, Helen Mirkel, Katherine Stanek, Dganit Zauberman, and BaoJian Zhou.

Also exhibited will be the works of David Wilson and Jeff Dion, recipients of the Mary Butler Trust purchases.

 Exhibition Dates: TUESDAY August 1 through SUNDAY September 10

Opening Reception on SUNDAY, August 6, 2017 from 2 to 5PM

 PAFA Alumni Gallery, Historic Landmark Building

118 N. Broad Street, Philadelphia, PA 19102


 THANK YOU Kirstin M. Jensen,

Chief Curator, James A. Michener Art Museum!

Awards, Prizes, and Collection Purchases may total up to $10,000.00

IMAGES from FAME 2017